Sunday, May 2, 2010

Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready

It's Logan's 17th birthday. He has a crucial gig with his band. Afterward Aura plans for this to be his best birthday ever, with an intimate night planned and a huge party at his house. How could she ever know this night would result in Logan's death?

Aura Salva
tore can see ghosts. She's 16. She's a post-shifter. She's only post-shift by one minute. She was born on the day that everything changed, December 21st, did her birth start something huge?

Ghosts d
on't scare her, they mostly annoy her, until her boyfriend turns into a ghost. He still hangs around and talks to her, he's almost as real as if he were alive, except for his violet glow that is and the fact that she can't touch him and he can't touch her.

Aura's relationships grow even more complicated as she becomes friends with Zachary Moore, Aura's Scottish partner for her thesis. Zachary is pre-shift. Only by a minute though. Logan starts to become jealous about this. On top of everything, Logan's family is filing a HUGE law-suit. Maybe a law-suit will help Logan pass on, maybe not.

I read this and I loved it. I think it was written very well. There were a lot of interesting parts in it. It caught my attention in the beginning and I honestly loved it from beginning to end. It seems to me like maybe there would be another to go along, possibly a series. It left me wanting more. I finished it and thought I really want to know what happens next. The only way I can think to compare it is to the Private series, the ending in Shade left you wanting more just like the ending in the Private books. I'm really looking forward to reading more from this author.

Thanks to Simon & Schuster Publishing and Vanessa Williams for sending me my ARC of Shade. I'll be having a contest later in the month. I recommend you either enter or go out and buy it. I loved it. Also my ARC copy came in this adorable red ribbon, which I loved. The cover is also really cute. Again keep your eye out for my contest.

Friday, April 9, 2010


If you want to enter some contests I'll be having some here in the next month or so. There will be a few contests with up to 5 winners each time. The first contest will be for Morpheus Road: The Light by D.J. MacHale. This is a ghoat story for anyone interested in entering or buying it. I have not read this but I should have the review up soon. So since I don't have a review up you can see the link to the trailer below:

If you're interested in entering you can leave your name below in the comments or you can e-mail me at yareviewsbylaurel @ hotmail . com. US residents only. If you aren't a US resident you can buy the book in stores this month on the 20th.

Another book I'll be having a contest for later towards the end of the month will be Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready. I am currently reading this and I should have the post up along with the beginning of the contest. Up to 5 copies of this will also be available for anyone who enters.

I will also have a contest for Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson. I have not read this one yet either so I might not have a review for with the contest when that goes up. Up to 5 copies of that will be given away too. This will most likely go on after the previous two contests.

Remember US residents only. Thanks.
Don't forget to check back later for chances to win Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready and Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson. Big thanks to Simon & Schuster for providing the books and making these contests possible.

Friday, March 12, 2010

I'm Back

Wow it's been a long time. Well today I received two books in the mail which made me think, it's been a long time since I've posted on my blog. Today I received Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready wrapped in a pretty red ribbon which I am excited to read. I also received Morpheus Road: The Light by D.J. MacHale which I am somewhat wanting to read. I just finished Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow so I'll be posting that review shortly. I started Suspicion by Kate Brian which I should be done reading around the end of the week. Then I'll be on to Perfect Mistake by Kate Brian. And finally I'll read the two that I just received. So I'll hopefully be posting a lot of reviews within the month.

Thursday, December 24, 2009

Saving Juliet by Suzanne Selfors

Mimi Wallingford, great-granddaughter of Adelaide Wallingford. Why can't she just be Mimi, why does everyone have to add great-granddaughter of Adelaide Wallingford? Wallingford Theatre, it's where Mimi grew up, learned to be a great actress, and decided she wanted to do something else with her life. Mimi's mother thinks that acting is Mimi's dream, wrong. Romeo and Juliet has been her life for so long. She practically lives, breathes, and eats Romeo and Juliet.

She wishes to be anywhere other than on the stage for her final performance of Romeo and Juliet. The only thing she looks forward to in the near future is going to Los Angeles and staying with her aunt. All she wanted to do was finish her final performance and got to LA and visit UCLA and just take a break. That is until the night of her final performance when she is thrown into Romeo and Juliet, not the performance though, the reality.

She was no longer in New York City, but exactly where was she? Mimi was thrown into what she had lived for so long. Romeo and Juliet was actually coming alive right in front of her eyes. Verona wasn't just a place in a play anymore, she was walking the streets and breathing the air of Verona. Dressed as a Capulet and covered in garbage Mimi finds her way to meeting the real Romeo and Juliet. She just needs to make sure they are okay and that they don't die, Mimi wants to make a happy ending for them. Having her costar Troy Summer along with her isn't ideal for her though. Troy doesn't realize that it isn't a dream until a while after Mimi realizes it. Then again who blames him for thinking it is a dream? But will Mimi really risk her life to finish what she started? Or will she give up and let everything end up how Shakespeare wrote it?

My favorite line in the story was at the very end. The last paragraph. I think that this story gave a good message. This is what I got from it: You can't let everyone else write out your life for you, they aren't you, they don't know what you want. You have to stand up for what you believe and what you want, or you will never get it. You need to pursue your goals and your dreams. You can't sit back and let people run your life and expect to get what you want and to be happy. If you take control and if you are determined you can change anything.

This book put a new twist on Romeo and Juliet. The beginning was okay. The part that really caught my interest was the middle though. After Mimi was thrown back into Verona things got very interesting from there. I guess the wild chases and clever planning was just very intriguing to me. I also really enjoyed the ending. You can buy this at Borders or Barnes & Noble. I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Romeo and Juliet or anyone who just wants a good read.

Friday, December 11, 2009


So today I was listening to this interview and I hear the name of my blog. It was pretty interesting. Here it is if you want to hear it(on the M.M. Anderson interview):

Anyway, I finished reading Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick so the review should be up this weekend. I'm also almost done with Saving Juliet by Suzanne Selfors so that should be coming soon.

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Cleopatra's Daughter by Michelle Moran

Arriving in Rome was the last thing Princess Kleopatra Selene wanted. At least she had Alexander, her twin brother, to comfort her. Her parents, Queen Cleopatra and Marc Antony, were gone. Octavian planned to bring them into Rome, to do what enslave them? Force them into an unhappy marriage?

Octavian's nephew, Marcellus, greets Selene and Alexander when they arrive at the coast. The journey with Marcellus is a long one but when the children make it to Rome they get to live with Octavian's sister, Octavia, who is nothing but kind to the children. But Selene still has her doubts. Even though Octavian is impressed by her drawing ability and Alexander's ability with horses she still doesn't know why he is treating her well.

The Red Eagle's rebellion is all anyone in Rome can talk about for a while. All the Acta posted on the Temple doors. Slaves rebelling due to the acta posted on doors and windows.

I really enjoyed this book. It was interesting from the beginning to the ending. It's a historical fiction. I had read one or two historical fictions before and this one interested me the most. In the back there is an "Afterword" and a "Historical Note". After reading everything else I read the Historical note and I was surprised to find out that most of the things that was written about actually happened. Michelle Moran obviously did her research. She made history come alive. She also wrote an Afterword which told about what happened to the characters in their life after this happened.

There is also a glossary because she uses a lot of foreign words. I think Michelle really excelled. Of the many characters there was all but one or two that didn't actually live 2,000 years ago. Selene was an inspiring and determined character. She wasn't afraid to stand up for what was right and what she believed in. In 422 pages I feel that I've learned a lot about how the Romans lived 2,000 years ago. This was very informative and entertaining and I enjoyed reading this. I Received this from the publisher, Random House. After that I also received bookmarks and an autographed book plate.

Sunday, October 18, 2009

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

The other day I came home to find a pretty big package for me. I opened it up and inside was a hardcover copy of Hush, Hush and 3 posters promoting the novel! I must say I am very excited to read this one! Hopefully I'll get to read it soon. So far I've heard only good things about this novel. I'm still working on reading Cleopatra's Daughter but i should be done soon since soccer season is ending and I'll need something to do before and after indoor I'll have tons of time to read! Which I am super excited for. I'm going to be receiving new books in the pretty soon hopefully I'll get one or two this week. My pile is building up for winter and thanksgiving break. Hopefully I'll be able to make it through the growing pile of novels to read.

As for reviews the review for Legacy by Cayla Kluver should be up soon. I had a small difficulty with it. When I was almost done with the review my internet crashed randomly and now I have to restart the whole thing. Oh well I'll get it done in the next week or so.

Apologies to Cayla Kluver and her team, sorry I haven't been able to get it up. More apologies to the other authors who sent books that I haven't gotten around to. Plus apologies to everyone who like to read my blog since I've been so inactive for the past 3 months. I'll assure you that I will be picking up in a little bit!

Friday, October 2, 2009

Want to win a signed Copy of Specials by Scott Westerfeld?

Anyone ages 12-17 can enter this fiction contest to get a chance to win a copy and get their fiction piece printed in the first issue of Lit Mag. Two other people will also get their pieces out int he magazine.

"...The contest is open to all genres, but please avoid overly adult themes, graphic violence, and graphic sex. Please follow the submission guidelines found here."

"...If you'd like to enter the contest, email your submissions to Entries should be sent as attachments and your email should include a cover letter, your name, your penname, your age and a brief bio. Be sure to note in the subject line of your email that it is a contest submission."

Good Luck!

Sunday, September 20, 2009

The Market by J.M. Steele

Kate Winthrop- 71

Kate doesn't know about the market. That is until Gretchen tells her she is number 71. Horrified by her ranking Kate sets out to rise to the top and be the late bloomer. She enlists the help of her two best friends, Dev and Callie, to help her get too "Blue Chip" status.

Kate starts by getting a whole new wardrobe. All new vintage clothes are sure to help her along the way. To give her an even more edgy look she decides to change her name to Kat. All Kate needs to do now is get into the Proud Crowd and get one of those shiny "P" necklaces.

Armed with a new wardrobe, new haircut, and a new name Kate gets ready to take Millbank high and the Millbank Social Stock Market by storm. Let's just hope she doesn't get so obsessed that she forgets who her real friends are.

I thought this book was good. It was a very original idea. It's not about a popular girl. It's not a love story. It's about an unpopular girl and her climb to popularity. But is popularity really worth loosing your best friends and everything else? I don't think it is. Some people sacrifice their personal style to be cool and I think that this is what this book tried to address. Having all that stuff won't be worth much if you don't have anyone who really likes you to share it with. You can buy The Market at Borders or other book stores.

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Internet Dating is not Like Ordering a Pizza by Cherie Burbach

Have you become frustrated with Internet dating?

If you've tried online dating and given up, or even if you thought the Internet wasn't right for you, this book will give you the courage to try again, this time armed with specific illustrations on what really works - from the profile through the dating stage.

Don't waste another minute wondering why some people seems to have Internet dating success while you're still waiting for a response to your online ad. Through dozens of concrete examples, dating expert Cherie Burbach will show you how to write an eye-catching profile, search for, and meet the right person online.

So I can't really say these tips work since I've never tried internet dating but some of the tips would probably work in normal dating. The tips seemed pretty good and well I bet they were since the author is a dating consultant.

I wouldn't recommend this to people under 20. Just because well it's just a bit odd when you are internet dating when you are 16. If you are trying internet dating and you can't find anyone who interests you or someone who is interested in you I think these tips would probably work.