Thursday, December 24, 2009

Saving Juliet by Suzanne Selfors

Mimi Wallingford, great-granddaughter of Adelaide Wallingford. Why can't she just be Mimi, why does everyone have to add great-granddaughter of Adelaide Wallingford? Wallingford Theatre, it's where Mimi grew up, learned to be a great actress, and decided she wanted to do something else with her life. Mimi's mother thinks that acting is Mimi's dream, wrong. Romeo and Juliet has been her life for so long. She practically lives, breathes, and eats Romeo and Juliet.

She wishes to be anywhere other than on the stage for her final performance of Romeo and Juliet. The only thing she looks forward to in the near future is going to Los Angeles and staying with her aunt. All she wanted to do was finish her final performance and got to LA and visit UCLA and just take a break. That is until the night of her final performance when she is thrown into Romeo and Juliet, not the performance though, the reality.

She was no longer in New York City, but exactly where was she? Mimi was thrown into what she had lived for so long. Romeo and Juliet was actually coming alive right in front of her eyes. Verona wasn't just a place in a play anymore, she was walking the streets and breathing the air of Verona. Dressed as a Capulet and covered in garbage Mimi finds her way to meeting the real Romeo and Juliet. She just needs to make sure they are okay and that they don't die, Mimi wants to make a happy ending for them. Having her costar Troy Summer along with her isn't ideal for her though. Troy doesn't realize that it isn't a dream until a while after Mimi realizes it. Then again who blames him for thinking it is a dream? But will Mimi really risk her life to finish what she started? Or will she give up and let everything end up how Shakespeare wrote it?

My favorite line in the story was at the very end. The last paragraph. I think that this story gave a good message. This is what I got from it: You can't let everyone else write out your life for you, they aren't you, they don't know what you want. You have to stand up for what you believe and what you want, or you will never get it. You need to pursue your goals and your dreams. You can't sit back and let people run your life and expect to get what you want and to be happy. If you take control and if you are determined you can change anything.

This book put a new twist on Romeo and Juliet. The beginning was okay. The part that really caught my interest was the middle though. After Mimi was thrown back into Verona things got very interesting from there. I guess the wild chases and clever planning was just very intriguing to me. I also really enjoyed the ending. You can buy this at Borders or Barnes & Noble. I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Romeo and Juliet or anyone who just wants a good read.

Friday, December 11, 2009

Update

So today I was listening to this interview and I hear the name of my blog. It was pretty interesting. Here it is if you want to hear it(on the M.M. Anderson interview):
http://www.blogtalkradio.com/thefunkywriter

Anyway, I finished reading Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick so the review should be up this weekend. I'm also almost done with Saving Juliet by Suzanne Selfors so that should be coming soon.

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Cleopatra's Daughter by Michelle Moran

Arriving in Rome was the last thing Princess Kleopatra Selene wanted. At least she had Alexander, her twin brother, to comfort her. Her parents, Queen Cleopatra and Marc Antony, were gone. Octavian planned to bring them into Rome, to do what enslave them? Force them into an unhappy marriage?

Octavian's nephew, Marcellus, greets Selene and Alexander when they arrive at the coast. The journey with Marcellus is a long one but when the children make it to Rome they get to live with Octavian's sister, Octavia, who is nothing but kind to the children. But Selene still has her doubts. Even though Octavian is impressed by her drawing ability and Alexander's ability with horses she still doesn't know why he is treating her well.

The Red Eagle's rebellion is all anyone in Rome can talk about for a while. All the Acta posted on the Temple doors. Slaves rebelling due to the acta posted on doors and windows.

I really enjoyed this book. It was interesting from the beginning to the ending. It's a historical fiction. I had read one or two historical fictions before and this one interested me the most. In the back there is an "Afterword" and a "Historical Note". After reading everything else I read the Historical note and I was surprised to find out that most of the things that was written about actually happened. Michelle Moran obviously did her research. She made history come alive. She also wrote an Afterword which told about what happened to the characters in their life after this happened.

There is also a glossary because she uses a lot of foreign words. I think Michelle really excelled. Of the many characters there was all but one or two that didn't actually live 2,000 years ago. Selene was an inspiring and determined character. She wasn't afraid to stand up for what was right and what she believed in. In 422 pages I feel that I've learned a lot about how the Romans lived 2,000 years ago. This was very informative and entertaining and I enjoyed reading this. I Received this from the publisher, Random House. After that I also received bookmarks and an autographed book plate.

Sunday, October 18, 2009

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

The other day I came home to find a pretty big package for me. I opened it up and inside was a hardcover copy of Hush, Hush and 3 posters promoting the novel! I must say I am very excited to read this one! Hopefully I'll get to read it soon. So far I've heard only good things about this novel. I'm still working on reading Cleopatra's Daughter but i should be done soon since soccer season is ending and I'll need something to do before and after indoor I'll have tons of time to read! Which I am super excited for. I'm going to be receiving new books in the pretty soon hopefully I'll get one or two this week. My pile is building up for winter and thanksgiving break. Hopefully I'll be able to make it through the growing pile of novels to read.

As for reviews the review for Legacy by Cayla Kluver should be up soon. I had a small difficulty with it. When I was almost done with the review my internet crashed randomly and now I have to restart the whole thing. Oh well I'll get it done in the next week or so.

Apologies to Cayla Kluver and her team, sorry I haven't been able to get it up. More apologies to the other authors who sent books that I haven't gotten around to. Plus apologies to everyone who like to read my blog since I've been so inactive for the past 3 months. I'll assure you that I will be picking up in a little bit!

Friday, October 2, 2009

Want to win a signed Copy of Specials by Scott Westerfeld?

Anyone ages 12-17 can enter this fiction contest to get a chance to win a copy and get their fiction piece printed in the first issue of Lit Mag. Two other people will also get their pieces out int he magazine.

"...The contest is open to all genres, but please avoid overly adult themes, graphic violence, and graphic sex. Please follow the submission guidelines found here."

"...If you'd like to enter the contest, email your submissions to submissions@yaliteraturereview.com. Entries should be sent as attachments and your email should include a cover letter, your name, your penname, your age and a brief bio. Be sure to note in the subject line of your email that it is a contest submission."

http://www.yaliteraturereview.com/contests.html

Good Luck!

Sunday, September 20, 2009

The Market by J.M. Steele

Kate Winthrop- 71

Kate doesn't know about the market. That is until Gretchen tells her she is number 71. Horrified by her ranking Kate sets out to rise to the top and be the late bloomer. She enlists the help of her two best friends, Dev and Callie, to help her get too "Blue Chip" status.

Kate starts by getting a whole new wardrobe. All new vintage clothes are sure to help her along the way. To give her an even more edgy look she decides to change her name to Kat. All Kate needs to do now is get into the Proud Crowd and get one of those shiny "P" necklaces.

Armed with a new wardrobe, new haircut, and a new name Kate gets ready to take Millbank high and the Millbank Social Stock Market by storm. Let's just hope she doesn't get so obsessed that she forgets who her real friends are.

I thought this book was good. It was a very original idea. It's not about a popular girl. It's not a love story. It's about an unpopular girl and her climb to popularity. But is popularity really worth loosing your best friends and everything else? I don't think it is. Some people sacrifice their personal style to be cool and I think that this is what this book tried to address. Having all that stuff won't be worth much if you don't have anyone who really likes you to share it with. You can buy The Market at Borders or other book stores.

Thursday, September 10, 2009

Internet Dating is not Like Ordering a Pizza by Cherie Burbach

Have you become frustrated with Internet dating?

If you've tried online dating and given up, or even if you thought the Internet wasn't right for you, this book will give you the courage to try again, this time armed with specific illustrations on what really works - from the profile through the dating stage.

Don't waste another minute wondering why some people seems to have Internet dating success while you're still waiting for a response to your online ad. Through dozens of concrete examples, dating expert Cherie Burbach will show you how to write an eye-catching profile, search for, and meet the right person online.

So I can't really say these tips work since I've never tried internet dating but some of the tips would probably work in normal dating. The tips seemed pretty good and well I bet they were since the author is a dating consultant.

I wouldn't recommend this to people under 20. Just because well it's just a bit odd when you are internet dating when you are 16. If you are trying internet dating and you can't find anyone who interests you or someone who is interested in you I think these tips would probably work.

Sunday, August 23, 2009

Midnight Reflections by Katrina Michaels

Tara never asked to be a vampire. Actually she never even thought about it. Everything changes when Tara and Michael get into a fight about why Michael wants to be with her. When Tara wakes up from her three days of "sleep" she doesn't know what happened to her and why she is a vampire. To protect her sire, Alexander, Tara might just have to kill someone.

Tara becomes aware of the murders happening in her town when one of her close friends is murdered. Tara is determined to find out who is doing this and put an end to it. When she decides to get involved she doesn't realize the killer will decide to start toying with her. Tara is the only victim who doesn't look like the others though. Tara thought that if she just did a little investigating she might be able to get out if she wanted to but she's completely wrong. This just turned into a game of cat and mouse for Tara and the murderer.

Tara didn't get involved for nothing though. She simply wasn't satisfied with how quickly the investigations were moving. So she decided it would be fine to investigate herself and go to the police or the paranormal investigations. For a new vampire Tara is very bold. Like any parent Alexander doesn't approve of his second living childe getting involved. Tara just might be the asset to the investigation.

I thought this books was good. I probably wouldn't have picked it up in a bookstore. The cover wasn't very appealing. I'm not trying to say that the cover is everything it's just everyone judges a book by it's cover. I wouldn't say it's like Twilight at all for all you Twilight fans. First of all the vampires were like they are usually thought of in real life , they can't go out in sunlight, good sense of smell, all that stuff. It wasn't a love story, I'm not sure how I would explain it actually. I think Katrina did a great job. I will definitely read her next books.

When Katrina contacted me she said that she wouldn't really call it YA because of swearing and a lot of gore. I think that it is YA though. I would recommend it to YA readers and Adult readers. I recommended it to someone on Goodreads because they were looking for good vampire books. So I guess that proves that I would actually recommend it to people. As long as you don't have a weak stomach it's a great read. It's 284 pages. You can find it at Barnes&Noble or on Amazon.com.

Friday, August 21, 2009

Author Interview - M.M. Anderson

1) What inspired you to write “Werewolf Dreams”?

My father was a New York City police officer. He was a handsome, baby-faced, hairy-chested, former middleweight boxer who had a witty-playful sense of humor, whose principles were honor, courage , and commitment. My dad adored his family, hated bullies, and he believed that kindness is too often confused with weakness.

In 1992 my dad was off duty when he happened upon a robbery in progress at a Radio Shack in Manhattan. He came to the aide of the store manager and customers, but sadly was killed in an ensuing gun battle. Being an author, I wanted to write a tribute to my dad. However, for a long while everything I penned came across as final and morose. For me my dad will always be very much alive, in my heart and in my actions. So I decided to honor my dad’s spirit. I made him an undead werewolf, and Seamus was born. However, the inspiration didn’t stop there. Werewolf Dreams has an ensemble cast. The book is full of memorable characters, characters inspired by real life people. Beware: anyone I cross paths with could potentially be my next muse… :~)

2) You are a young adult author. Did you choose this genre or did it choose you?

The genre chose me. When I first began sending Werewolf Dreams out to agents and publishers I assumed it was an adult novel, since there’s a whole lot of humorous gore in my book. I was, however, told that my situations and characters were “too wholesome” to be adult and either I should add more “titillating” situations or it was suggested that I explore YA. So glad I listened to that sage advise. I was able to keep my story in tact, and YA brought me into contact with an audience that’s so wonderfully full of enthusiasm. I’m here (YA) to stay!

3) What’s the main message you want readers to take away from book?

I want my readers to know that just like Seamus, they are worthy. It isn’t easy to be a teen. I’ve been there done that, and my children are now approaching the teen years so I get to see the angst from another vantage point. I want my children and my readers to remember that we all have gifts and talents, and just because we aren’t perfect, that doesn’t me we aren’t good enough to be part of a cool, select, winning team. In Seamus’s case, that team is the Hounds of the Gods!

4) Can readers expect more books written by you in the future?

Yes. I am presently working on Werewolf Love: Until Death Do Us Part. WD fans will learn much more about Sevlow in book two. Readers can sample the first chapter of book two at the end of Werewolf Dreams, an exciting teaser. :~) I also have a third Werewolf book outlined. It’s my plan to pen as many adventures of Seamus, Claudia, and the gang as my readers can stand!


5) When will “The Werewolf Dreams” be released?

I am happy to announce that Werewolf Dreams will be published and available on September 1, 2009. Pre-orders are available via Amazon.com.


6) Do you have a website for teens/readers to follow the characters from “Werewolf Dreams”? Or to follow you as an author?

I welcome teens/readers to chat with me, friend me, and follow my characters via any or all of these sites:

www.mmanderson.net

www.myspace.com/werewolfdreams

www.goodreads.com/author/show/2970334.M_M_Anderson


Thanks to Maria for sending me my free autographed copy and for working with me to do the fabulous contest that we had a while ago and for taking to time to answer questions. I'm looking forward to her next book Werewolf Love: Until Death Do Us Part and the third in Maria's debut series. If you walk into a Barnes & Noble be sure to request this book. It's also available on Amazon.com. You can read my review one of the August posts. You can also check out A Life Bound By Books to read Lisa's, the winner of the contest, review.

Friday, August 14, 2009

Cleopatra's Daughter contests

I'm back from band camp! So I've been asked to review Cleopatra's Daughter by Michelle Moran and she told me about a contest thing on her website. I decided I would share the link with you guys, too. One of the contests is for a chance to win a $250 gift certificate to Hollister. You have to read the book and write a review to enter but I haven't read it yet because my copy hasn't come yet. I haven't been receiving any books lately and I don't really know why. Hopefully I'll be receiving it next week or the week after. Anyways that isn't the only contest that you can enter on the website. There are three other contests. One of the contests you can enter to win a copy of the book and other ancient Roman artifacts like coins. Sadly I can't do the third contest though. I would but the clostest one to me is New Hope, PA and I looked it up on mapquest and I'm assuming it's about 4 hours away, then you have to add the time to find the bookstore. Although If you live near any of the locations on the list you could go to them and find the red ribbon[pictured above] by leafing through the book and win a neat gift basket including a copy of Cleopatra's Daughter, an authentic Roman artifact, Cleopatra earrings, and other Cleopatra goodies. If any of you win be sure to tell me. I'd love to know that I assisted in telling someone something and hearing that they won. Anyway here's the link http://www.michellemoran.com you have to go into fun stuff first and then click on contests to get to the contests I just mentioned.

Sunday, August 2, 2009

Bloodhound by Tamora Pierce

Beka's journey continues in the second story. Now Beka is a dog. She has been one for five months. Already she has got a scent and she wants to sink her teeth into it. Beka has become friends with the Rogue of Corus, the king/queen of thieves, Rosto the Piper. Well, actually she has been friends with him since she was a puppy. She is also friends with Aniki and Kora who came to Corus with Rosto. Now all three of them are her room mates and Ersken is, too since he is with Kora.

Beka has the scent of a colemonger, the person who makes coles[fake coins] counterfeiter,the colemonger has spread coles all over in Corus's silver. Covering bronze piences with smuggled silver. Why would anyone do something like that? If they just wanted to get rich why not just steal the money instead of making the money worth almost nothing by spreading coles and causing prices to raise. Especially with Winter on the way.

Beka gets sent to Port Caynn to figure out what is going on since they are sure the coles are coming for Port Caynn. Beka and Goodwin go to Port Caynn to fix the problem. Tunstall can't go because he is in bed for almost two weeks because he got both of his legs broken during the Bread Riot. Beka on the other hand can go since her body hasn't had that much healing done by mages. When Beka walked out of her house to go somewhere she was attacked by two rats because she took their brother. Lucky for Beka she was young. Achoo also goes with Beka and Goodwin although Pounce is left behind because he has to take care of business. Achoo is a scent hound. The person that dumped Achoo on Beka abused her and he didn't let her have any fun now that Beka has Achoo she brings Schoo along on the trip. Who would have though Achoo would be a huge help. Expecially since Beka's only training as a handler was with Phelan who was her former handler,not the one who abused her.

Beka and Dale, one of the people to help her out at the bread riot, spend a lot of time together while she is in Port Caynn. Beka becomes close with several people and becomes enemies witha lot of people. Especially rats. Follow Beka on her journey through Port Caynn to find the colemorgers.

This book was great just as I said the first one was. Beka is one scarey girl. I wouldn't want to get into her way. The people Beka meets along the way are described very well. She gives all the details of what they look like and can also guess the age of the people. I guess that would come i handy to be a dog. I think Beka is an interesting character. She would rather be cracking skulls than sewing like the Lady would want her to do but she loves what she does even if the Lady doesn't. Beka isn't one of those girls that always needs a man, although she could have Rosto or Dale she doesn't need them. Although she does enjoy their company.

As I said in my review of the first book I'm looking forward to the third book. Hopefully Tamora is continuing the series. If there isn't a third book in the series I'm going to read the others be Tamora Pierce. Although I will be reading them even if there will be a third book in the series. You can find Bloodhound and Terrier in bookstores now. Terrier is 581 pages and I read it in five days. Bloodhound is 576 pages and I read it in two days. Although my ARC of Bloodhound was actually 531 pages because of an accidental reprint of some of the chapters at the end of the book. Oh well, I was going to buy a normal copy anyway.

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Terrier by Tamora Pierce

246 H.E.
Beka Cooper is a trainee in the provost's guard. Beka is a puppy but soon she will become a dog as long as she watches her back and doesn't get killed by any rats. Pounce her cat can talk to her and she and Pounce watch the lower city with the other dogs and puppies. Goodwin and Tunstall, Beka's dogs, train Beka on the streets. Goodwin is a tough dog and so is Tunstall and they are both senior dogs. Beka is the "pet" of Lord Gershom.

All Beka wants to do is chase rats and catch them so that they can go to the kennels and get what they deserve. Two cases catch Beka's the most though. The Shadow snake has been taking children for years. He asks for valuable items, if you leave the item he asks for you get your little one back if not he kills the poor kid. This huge issue of the Shadow Snake was always a tale that mothers told to their children adn "threatened" then with. Saying "If you don't sleep the Shadow Snake will come get you." Beka never knew this was happening in the Cesspool until Tansy Lofts, a friend of Beka's since she grew up in the Cesspool and then moved into Lord Gershom's house, had her young Rolond taken. All the Shadow Snake wanted was the very valuable fire opals that can be found in the Lower City even in the Cesspool. Crookshank, Tansy's grandfather-in-law and a big rat, never gave up the fire opals and caused young Rolond to die. Beka wants to save all the future kids from being murdered and get back at the Shadow Snake for Tansy and all the other mothers and fathers.

The other thing that catches Beka's eye is the Opal Murders. Beka can speak to the dead who have unfinished business, through pigeons, and several of them are complaining of getting work and not knowing where and being killed. Beka wants to make it all right before anyone else is killed but she can't be sure that that will happen.

Will Beka ever catch the Shadow Snake? Will she find the person in charge of the Opal Murders? This is the beginning of the story of Beka Cooper.

I loved this book. It's 581 pages long but it didn't take very long to read it. I read it in about five days. Beka was a great character. I just read the second one so the review for that one will be up soon. I loved them both. Beka's a hard working dog who just happens to love what she does. Especially when she goes on wild goosechases to get rats who need to be caged. Beka cracks skulls with her baton. Let me tell you I would never want to cross Beka. She's fearless.

I'm looking forward to the series continuing. I'm also going to read Tamora's other books. One that is about a desendant of Beka's named Aly. I think that will be good, too. I really wish the next book was out already. Even though the book is a bit of a fantasy it wasn't bad. Almost all of the stuff that happened in the book could have happened, long ago of course. The book cover was a bit shiney and metallic but I though it was nice that they added the pigeons into the background since they are a big part of the story.

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Scrambled Eggs at Midnight by Heather Hepler & Brad Barkley

Calliope, or Cal as she calls herself, doesn't want to move again. Every time they move she has to leave her favorite things behind. What's all this for though? Delores, Cal's mom, doesn't like to be at one place all the time, she doesn't have a steady job, and she and Cal left Cal's dad years ago. Delores decides to go to North Carolina to work at a Renaissance Faire. Cal thinks that this place is going to be just like all the others but it just might turn out to be different.

Eliot is the son of the owner of the fat camp. Well actually it's a christian fat camp. The campers go there to pray and learn about god while they learn to loose weight and control their diet. Eliot doesn't really like it there because they had to move away from the beach where he used to live before The Dad go in touch with God.

Eliot has been doing pick ups in the camp van when he sees Cal for the first time. For some reason he feels that he already knows her and has for his whole life. Even though he has never met her before. Cal and Eliot have an immediate connection. The two might just have to face some of the hardest changes of their lives when Cal's mom decides to move again and Eliot's father's obsession changes Eliot's family's lives forever. This might be the only chance that either gets at true love and two people could ruin things forever.

I thought this book was very good. I was looking at it on the shelf at Borders for a while and I'm glad I finally decided to buy it. The writing was very fluid. Both authors did very well when they tried to capture all of the little things that make someone fall in love. I'm definately going to keep reading books by these two authors. I think that the two seem like a great combination. If this book is any indication of what they have already written and what's to come I'll be happy to keep buying their books.

I really couldn't decide which character was my favorite. Eliot seemed like a great sweet guy. Even though he embarassed himself he kept going and never gave up. Then there's Cal who you can't help but feel bad for, she never stays in one place for too long, it's got to be a hard thing to just drop all of your favorite things and leave. Then again she is so strong because she knows there is a big chance that she is going to move again but she lets herself like Eliot even though she might have to leave him when Delores decides she wants to leave. Both of the characters are brave and determined to be together.

Friday, July 24, 2009

Werewolf Dreams by M.M. Anderson

Seamus Sullivan used to be a wild child. He never wanted to be a werewolf. He never thought he would work for the New City Police Department. Seamus has been shot thrown out buildings and just about anything you can think of. Although the difference between Seamus and any other office is very big. Seamus can't die. Well actually he is dead already, undead. Wherever Seamus gets hurt his mysterious dog shows up. At least that's what the newspapers think. No one knows that the mysterious big dog is Seamus.

On top of being a police officer, Seamus always seems to see this phantom woman whenever he makes a kill. Seamus doesn't know that his phantom woman is actually Claudia Peña. Seamus takes her out on a date. He doesn't know that this date could cause him to loose his motorcycle and Claudia. He doesn't know that he might be meeting more werewolves and he might have to fight alongside them. Claudia is trapped in a tomb while Seamus is left to walk or steal a car to get home. Claudia only wants out. She is deterrmined to get back to Seamus as quickly as she can. Even if it means breaking out and ruining her clothes. Claudia is trapped in the tomb for a reason, to make sure that Seamus doesn't get distracted while he is fighting and so that she doesn't get hurt.

Will Claudia find a way out? Will Seamus and the werewolves win? Who are they battling anyway? Want to find out all you have to do is buy Werwwolf Dreams in September.

I really liked this book. Seamus is a guy that a lot of girls would want. Too bad Claudia gets him. The werewolves in this and all other werewolf books really raise the standards that girls already have for boys. They are just so sweet and strong and even though they smell like wet dog they are just irresistable. We all know how some people think of werewolves as bad, but let face it in most werewolf books, the werewolves are the good guys. I mean sure they kill but at least it's for a reason.

I liked how the chapters went between Claudia and Seamus and everything wasn't for just one point of view but two. You get to see what Seamus thinks and then you see what Claudia thinks. I'm very excited for the next book in the series, Werewolf Love:Until Death Do Us Part. M.M. Anderson is a great writer. Some nights I would stay up until 2 A.M. and still wanted to keep reading. I guess that shows you that it's a very good book. You can get Werewolf Dreams in book stores in September. Or you can go online to Amazon and pre-order it now.

Running with Werewolves Winners

Running With Werewolves Winners

Contest- Lisa Reeves
Drawing- Lisa Mason

Later this week or next week I'll be posting my interview with Maria.

Doesn't Taylor look amazing in this picture? Thank you Borders for posting this picture on Facebook!

Sunday, July 19, 2009

Running with Werewolves Contest

Your tenth riddle is:
Of the opera but not a chap

This is your last riddle.

Saturday, July 18, 2009

Running with Werewolves Contest

Your ninth riddle is:
Pop singer with curving cones and feathers found after dark under covers

Friday, July 17, 2009

Running with Werewolves Contest

Your eighth riddle is:
Sullied scavenger victuals

Thursday, July 16, 2009

Running with Werewolves Contest

Your seventh riddle is:
Common Korean surname perambulation

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Running with Werewolves Contest

Your sixth riddle is:
A way to keep the linoleum shiny and used in heraldry to signify a second son

Tuesday, July 14, 2009

Running with Werewolves Contest

Since the internet wasn't working when I tried to post the fourth riddle yesterday I'm giving you the fourth and fifth today. Remember to send me your answers in an e-mail. This is a caution to prevent cheating. My e-mail address is: yareviewsbylaurel[at]hotmail[dot]com
Also you can e-mail me with entries to the drawing if you feel that it is unsafe for you to put your e-mail on a comment. Good Luck!

Your fourth riddle is:
Passive irregular verb meets Yellowstone resident reverie

Your fifth riddle is:
Three chevrons and silly nonsense between the shin and the thigh

Sunday, July 12, 2009

Running with Werewolves Contest

Your third riddle is:
Positioned gun hammer minding the gallinaceous gals

Saturday, July 11, 2009

Running with Werewolves contest

Your second riddle is:
Slip one of these into a drink and call Stanley Kowalski’s wife

Friday, July 10, 2009

Running with Werewolves Contest


Want to Run with the big dogs?

Now's your chance! You can win a personalized copy o
f M.M. Anderson's debut novel Werewolf Dreams by correctly solving 10 mind-bending chapter riddles! We all know the bestselling vampire/werewolf series Twilight by Stephanie Meyer, with super hunky werewolf Jacob Black (Taylor Lautner) who looks muscular like always in the picture to the left. How would you guys like a book where the characters are based on the hunky, rough, tousled guys that are our werewolves! Well now you have it. Maria portrays the anger and the feelings of the forever seventeen werewolf very well. These hot, and I mean hot, victims of fierce bitings are strong powerful "men" with a bad temper. I wouldn't get on their bad side if I were you.

Prizes:

There's more than one way to win. The word riddle winner will receive a personalized copy and second and third place will get an e-book of Werewolf Dreams. Enter a share with your friends drawing to win an autographed copy of Werewolf Dreams.

Rules:

To be included in the extra drawing you have to do one of the things that I am going to post. If you post about the drawing in one place more than once only one will be counted. The only exception is Blogger and anywhere that you can post and put a side bar. Also if you don't post the location of the post it will not be counted. You must post a comment with your e-mail address in it if you want to be entered. The only exception I have for this is if you can't post a comment using the tiny boxes please feel free to e-mail me. I still have your e-mail that way. My e-mail is: (yareviewsbylaurel[at]hotmail[dot]com)



Share With Your Friends Drawing:

+1 Leave a comment with your e-mail address.
+1 Become a follower or let me know if you are already one.

+1 Post this contest on a sidebar on your blog.
+1 Post about this contest on other sites. (Facebook, MySpace, Gather, Twitter, Random Buzz, etc...) [+1 for each post up to one per site]
+1 Come up with a question for Maria for the interview. [+1 for each question up to two questions]
Each point must have a link.

Chapter Rid
dles:
You will get ten riddles from the chapter that I just posted. One chapter riddle will be posted each day for ten days. You have two weeks to do all of the puzzles.
The first one in with the most right will win a personalized copy of Werewolf Dreams by M.M. Anderson. Second and third place will win an e-book.
An Example of the brain teasing riddles:
Professional Football Teams
Army Bugs

GI [army] ANTS [bugs]
GIANTS Get it?

Your first chapter riddle is:

Not quite across town, where the flowers grow and autos shift into top gear.


Send your answers to the riddles to my e-mail address: yareviewsbylaurel[at]hotmail[dot]com

Thanks Lisa for bringing this to my attention even if it was unintentional! I don't want any cheaters! The only thing you can post is your entries for the drawing and if you don't feel comfortable putting your drawing entry on the post feel free to send it in an e-mail!

Werewolf Dreams by M.M. Anderson

Cool Werewolves, a hot heroine, and things that go bump in the night.

Chapter One
Park Patrol


The moon was a waxing crescent.
Officer Seamus Sullivan, New City’s lone werewolf
policeman, slurped the raspberry jelly out of a Krinkle
Kreme donut and lobbed the frosted dough lump out the
window of his blue and white patrol car. It bounced off the
rim of an overflowing garbage can and landed in the paws
of a ragged rat. Feeding Midtown Gardens residents wasn’t
the same as littering, not in Seamus’s mind, anyway.
“Park patrol,” groaned Seamus as he reached for a
cruller. An insatiable sweet tooth and wet dog body odor
were constant but bearable human-form werewolf traits,
although soggy canine funk insured that Seamus’s love life
remained nonexistent. Also on the downside list of werewolf
traits was the “never age” dilemma, which meant
Seamus would stay seventeen forever. On the totally
downside of werewolf was the “moon” matter, and as
Seamus had learned, the “controlling your anger” problem.
Both of these occurrences made him sprout coarse
black fur and razor-sharp incisors, which led to the “holy
smokes” response that prompted Sergeant Gaffney to
consult a lunar calendar and give Seamus blue moon vacation
time and full moon days off.
After a recent newspaper article appeared, the sergeant
also saw to it that Seamus was assigned solo nightshift
park duty, until further notice. Midtown Gardens was
closed to the public from 10:00 PM to 6:00 AM. Seamus
and his New City Police Department radio car were posted
to make certain the park stayed vacant and graffiti-free.
“Sarge, what am I, a watch dog?” protested Seamus
when he heard about his new patrol detail.
Sgt. Gaffney didn’t respond, or look up from his desk
blotter. The reassignment wasn’t open for discussion.
Despite being annoyed and having a bruised ego, Seamus
decided he wouldn’t push the park patrol issue. He knew
Sergeant Gaffney had no choice but to protect his own
twilight career and Seamus’s hairy butt from controversy
and scrutiny, or worse.
Midtown Gardens duty notwithstanding, Seamus also
knew there was a definite upside to being an undead werewolf—
still living.
Seamus possessed an overzealous fight gene and never
retreated when danger reared its homicidal head. In his
four years as an officer of the law, Seamus would have died
many violent deaths had he still been a mortal.
On duty and off, Seamus hated bullies. They made him
react, and more often than not, lose his Irish temper. On
the offensive, Officer Sullivan experienced first-hand
what it was like to be stabbed, shot, bludgeoned, electrocuted,
squashed by a renegade train, pushed off a bridge,
and blown-up in a fiery skyscraper terrorist attack. He
walked away unscathed (usually on all fours) from each
altercation.
Eternal life undead had earned Seamus a slew of medals
for honor and valor, but it had also won him the unwanted
attention of Lyman Newlin, the formerly well-known
and presently crusty New City Chronicle police reporter.
The following editorial by Newlin appeared just prior to
Seamus’s park patrol reassignment:
Officer Seamus Sullivan from the 20th
Precinct seems to rise from the ashes
time and time again, like the mythical
phoenix. How does this young patrolman
defy death? Can survival be attributed
to a lucky break? And what about the
mysterious black hound that seems to
follow him around? Is Seamus Sullivan
New City’s very own superhero with a
canine sidekick?
The buried-on-page-nineteen blurb went unnoticed by
most New Citiers. Father X. Francis Benedict, however,
read the piece with rapt interest.
Mickey Stella, wanna-be wise guy, two-time jailbird,
part-time hit man, and small-time stolen goods fencer sat
alone at the end of the Cock of the Flock Tavern bar. He
puffed an unfiltered cigarette and nursed his fifth and
final bottom shelf double Scotch & soda. He’d been cutoff
by the bartender for uninhibited off gassing.
Mickey was low on cash and irritated about being
stood up by some guy who was going to cut him in on
some sort of great deal, moving stuff from an electronics
heist. Something to do with eye pads or pea pods. The
alcohol had made Mickey’s recall more foggy than usual.
Not to mention years of hallucinogenic drugs, lack of
exercise, and a diet high in partially hydrogenated oils.
Mickey liked to think of himself as a big guy, the
bouncer type. Mickey had horizontal butt crack on the
back of his neck and he could no longer bet numbers
higher than ten. Most people who knew Mickey referred
to him as a dumb, fat mook—even his mother.
Mickey knew this for certain because he used to go
with her to church.
Mama Stella lit devotional candles and prayed for her
only child every morning at 7:30 mass, “Dear Holy Mary
Mother of God, please watch over my dumb, fat mook
son and forgive me for whatever trespasses I did wrong to
give birth to such a loser. Amen.”
Mickey stumbled out of the Cock of the Flock Tavern
and squinted at his watch dial. It was either 12:10 or 2:00.
He couldn’t quite tell, but he was coherent enough to
know he had a transportation issue. Mickey hadn’t
considered finding a lift home, and he refused to take the bus
or subway, not at this late hour anyway, all the weirdoes,
too scary.
Mickey expected the guy with the goods to have wheels
and drive him back over the bridge to Sicily Town after
their deal went down. Mickey had planned to choke the
guy lifeless, bury the body, and keep the car for a few days.
Mickey’s Caddie was in the shop again and Mama Stella
wasn’t exactly generous with her antique Pacer. The moon
buggy sported a bumper sticker that read: HIT ME AND
WE EXPLODE TOGETHER.
That was Plan A. Mickey didn’t have a Plan B, and he
didn’t have return cab fare to Sicily Town. Not that any
New City taxi driver would have ferried Mickey over the
bridge to Sicily Town, not at such a late hour, for any
price, all the weirdoes, too scary.
With drunken clarity, Mickey decided to walk the six
and a quarter miles back to his basement apartment, the
studio he rented from his mother. Mickey hoped she wasn’t
waiting up, although he knew she would be. He pictured
her sour face glued to the kitchen window next to
the cellar door, waiting, watching, worrying. Mama Stella
wouldn’t let Mickey go to sleep without first giving her a
detailed account of his evening. Mickey had long ago run
out of credible fibs for his many midnight escapades,
especially fibs to explain all the digging that went on in
the vegetable garden after dark.
Four short blocks later, Mickey was bathed in sweat
and there was a raw spot on his inner butt cheek where his
size 48 briefs had crawled and bunched and began chafing.
“This freakin’ sucks!” screamed Mickey as he dislodged
the wedgie. A few slow steps later the wilted
traveler removed his sports jacket, and unbuttoned his
damp rayon dress shirt collar before cursing the heat,
which now topped the list of Mickey’s mounting aggravations.
Middle of the night and the mercury was still hovering
around a humid 85 degrees. Tomorrow snow was in the
forecast—that was springtime in New City.
A lone cab stopped for the light. Mickey ambled forward
and grabbed the passenger door handle, but not
before the driver caught sight of the Neanderthal wouldbe
fare in the rearview mirror, pushed auto-lock, and sped
away. Mickey tumbled onto the curb. It wasn’t his night.
“Eat dung! You diaper head, camel face, toilet… freakin’…
mother… ah, shit!” Mickey’s voice was hoarse from
too many smokes and chronic post-nasal drip. He now
had a rip in his sleeve and his elbow was scuffed. He sat
on the grimy concrete for a moment and tried his best to
contemplate the situation. The park loomed in front of
Mickey’s weary view. If he wanted to get home any time
before dawn he’d have to pick himself up and continue
walking.
Mickey decided Plan B was to skim a mile or so off his
impossible foot journey by cutting through Midtown
Gardens.
Mickey crossed the street and yanked the CLOSED
sign from the park’s entryway gate, bent it in half, tossed
it into the deserted avenue, and wished aloud in a flurry
of expletives that the discarded metal would tear through
the next passing cab’s tire.
Two hundred yards away, the clink-clank-clinking of
aluminum sign on potholed asphalt awoke Seamus from
a momentary snooze. The scent of sour body odor, blood,
tobacco, and cheap booze also reached Seamus long
before Mickey lumbered through the park clearing. The
trespasser stopped beside a lonely bench where he paused
to pee on an over-flowing garbage can. Seamus walked up
behind Mickey, flashlight in hand.
“Let’s go, Chief,” said Seamus.
Mickey jumped. “What the—?”
“Park’s closed. Or didn’t you read the sign before flinging
it into the street?”
Mickey finished urinating in silence, shook twice, then
pushed his pecker back into his fly and wiped a wet hand
on his pant leg.
“Prove I flinged the sign onto Garden Avenue, flatfoot.
Smells like a stinkin’wet dog around here.” Mickey sniffed
his own armpits.
“Emptied your tank, now beat it. If you wanna tip-toe
through the tulips, come back after 6:00.” Seamus
motioned with the flashlight beam, illuminating the
direction of nearest park exit. “Start walking.”
Mickey sat himself down on a park bench next to the
garbage can. “I ain’t going nowheres, flatfoot.”
According to the Police Handbook Course of Action,
Section 10, when dealing with an intoxicated person an
officer should:
1. Establish contact in a friendly manner and gain
trust.
2. Never be condescending.
3. Don’t debate.
4. Blame the reason why the person has to leave on
someone besides you.
5. Lie if you have to, to make them happy.
Seamus sighed. He hated dealing with drunks. The five
rules of law enforcement procedure never seemed to
work. He gave it a go anyway.
“Listen, Chief; it doesn’t look like you had such a good
night, but I don’t make the rules around here. Go home.
Things’ll be better in the morning.”
Mickey didn’t move or reply.
“The park is closed—you gotta leave.”
“Who says, flatfoot?” Mickey cocked his head and
glared at Seamus.
“I says.” Seamus folded his arms and stood erect, positioned
cop-style steadfast in a puddle of lamppost light.
Broad shouldered, muscular, 5’11”, clean-cut, baby faced,
Seamus didn’t look a day older than his forever seventeen
years.
Mickey grinned.
In one fast and fluid motion, Mickey grabbed the nearby
trashcan and crashed it across Seamus’s knees.
Seamus collapsed like a house of cards on a windy day.
Mickey followed with a second crushing blow to the
downed officer’s head, splitting it like a ripe watermelon.
Mickey rolled the bloodied, wounded policeman onto his
back and helped himself to the vehicle keys before removing
Seamus’s service revolver from its holster. He fired two
shots into the unconscious officer’s chest, stuffed the
smoking gun into his own waistband, and trotted towards
the radio car.
Seamus’s lupus conversion was swift and furious.
Mickey made it halfway across the clearing before he
heard the pursuing patter of paws. The cop killer slowed
his lumbering jog and glanced over his left shoulder. He
was eye-to-eye with a furious frothing werewolf.
“Big dog!” yelled Mickey, pulling the revolver from his
pocket. He didn’t get the opportunity to fire. An enormous
pair of razor-sharp jaws clamped over Mickey’s fleshy neck
with the force and speed of a guillotine. He was DOA
before his decapitated corpse hit the grass with a THUD.
By the time the frenzied werewolf had consumed
Mickey’s cirrhosis liver, not a trace of desecrated carcass
remained. It had burst into a momentary flame and vanished
into the darkness. Whatever personal articles were
left behind comprised a pile of soon-to-be-windblown
ashes.
Except the gun. It belonged to Seamus.
Seamus the werewolf loped back towards the patrol car,
his rage subsiding along with his consciousness. His stomach
was already beginning to boil and cramp. Don’t eat
drunks’ livers.
Seamus heaved and drooled and retched and hurled
Mickey chunks before catching sight of the familiar
apparition hovering above the grass. There she was again,
watching him from her glistening sphere of luminescence.
Seamus wagged his bushy black tail and whimpered an
affectionate greeting. He liked it when phantom woman
showed up to his kills in the buff. Tonight, however, she
was wearing pink paisley pajamas. All the same, nude or
clothed, she was hot.
It wasn’t long before Seamus’s vision faded to black.
Lights out.

Monday, July 6, 2009

Winner!

We have a winner! The winner will receive an e-book of Dreams of Beauty by Aubrie Dionne. I won't keep you waiting any longer.

And the winner is...

*Paradox*
http://paradoxrevealed.blogspot.com/


Everyone check back on Friday for the start of my new contest! At the end of the contest check back for an author interview with M.M. Anderson. Also Check back on Wednesday/Thursday for the first chapter of Werewolf Dreams which links to the contest. You'll need to read it if you want to enter.

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Dreams or Beauty by Aubrie Dionne

Emme is 20 years old and she still hasn't found the thing that she is "meant to do". Everyone around Emme knows what they are supposed to do even Jack and Stella her two best friends who are a year older than her. Thomas and Laura, Emme's brother and sister-in-law have been taking care of her since she was an infant and her parents died in a carriage accident.

Lets rewind time. Five years ago Stella, Jack, and Emme traveled through the woods. It started raining and The children, then fifteen, decided to go to the Hawthorne Estate for protection. They hid under the porch until Jack and Stella decided to go into the house to check things out. Legend has it that Davian Hawthorne, the man who lived in the estate, was cursed by a sorceress and disappeared for over a century. Emme is intrigued by the fabulous portrait of the young man. He was very handsome.

Fastforward five years and Emme has been having these dreams about Davian Hawthorne. When she sees Rosalie Hawthorne, Davian's neice, at the Harvest Celebration she wants to go and talk to her. And she gets the perfect chance when she finds something of Rosalie's that she has to return to her. Turns out Lilly,Rosalie's mother, is Davian's little sister who was about ten when he disappeared. Lilly is over a hundred years old by the time that Emme meets her but she just might be one of the only ways to get to where Davian is and find him and save Briarswood from Rosalie's wrath.

Emme goes on a journey to find Davian to save the town. Davian might just be the love of her life though. So really she is saving the town and herself. The journey is a long and treacherous one but Emme is determined to get to Davian in time before Lilly dies and Rosalie inherits the estate which turns out to be all of Briarswood and sells it so that factories can be built and homes can be torn down.

Will Emme find Davian? Will Davian fall for her like she fell for him? What will happen to Rosalie? Will Emme ever find out what happened to her parents and why they died? Will Emme get Davian back in time to save Briarswood and Lilly? Will Emme find out where Malicene went?

I thought this was a good book. Although it isn't out in paperback yet so you would have to get it online if you wanted to read it that's really one of the only downside to this book. Also the author is very nice and she very generously gave me an e-book of Dreams of Beauty and Voices of Ire which I'm also excited to read. Thanks Aubrie! I really enjoyed this book. It was placed in a time where they used carriages instead of cars to get places. Emme was a great character. Also if it weren't for Stella and Jack getting Emme to go into the Hawthorne Estate and see Davian's portrait she would have never known where to find him and Briarswood would have been filled with factories instead of residents and stores.

This book was 103 pages. I would read it again if I didn't have a whole pile of books to read. So I guess I'm kind of saying that I recommend it. Aubrie has also written several other books. Such as Voices of Ire, Night Dance, and Messanger in the Mist (which I'm excited to read). She also wrote several short stories, such as the Seasons of Fantasy series and the Carnival of Illusions series. Check out Aubrie's blog at http://authoraubrie.blogspot.com/ or under my stalkers column, her name on that is Aubrie.

Also if you comment on this post you will be entered into a drawing to win Aubrie's book, Dreams of Beauty. Although it is in pdf form [on the computer/e-book] because it isn't out in paperback. It was a very quick read even though it was on the computer. All you have to do is comment and you will be entered in a drawing the only thing I must stress is you need to put your e-mail in the comment! You will not be entered in the contest if you don't put your valid e-mail address! Good luck everyone!

The contest ends on July 6th.
We will choose the winner on July 7th. The winner will be e-mailed a congratulatory notification and then will be e-mailed the e-book. I will also post on my blog who the winner is.

Monday, June 29, 2009

Contest for some amazing beachy reads

Hey everyone!

If you want to win a huge beachy prize? If so go to http://www.royalreads.com/2009/06/just-beachy-reads-prizepack-giveaway.html to enter the amazing giveaway. There are three winners and each gets at least one autographed copy of a book by Kieran Scott a.k.a Kate Brian who I was just gushing over her latest release and I found this amazing contest right after I did that. Lucky me. The catch is it ends today June 29th so if you want to enter go do it now! your time may be up soon!

Happy Times!

I just finished Beautiful Disaster By Kate Brian and I loved it! Anyway though I just figured out that two books by her are coming out around my birthday! Suspicion [Private Series] is coming out on October 8th, 10 days before my birthday not even two weeks! Also Perfect Mistake [Privilege Series] is coming out on the 27th , 8 days after my birthday! I'm sure that I won't have any trouble finding something to spend my birthday money on. Maybe someone will even get me a Borders giftcard for my birthday. That would be awesome. Anyway I still have a little time before my birthday but I'm already planning how I'm going to spend the money. Wow!

Also the month before my birthday Werewolf Dreams comes out! Also the release of that novel calls for a massive contest. Also I recently was told by the author Maria, M.M. Anderson, that she is working on the second in the series! More hot werewolf guys! *sigh* More muscles!

Which reminds me New Moon comes out in theaters in November! Taylor Lautner with his shirt off! He's so muscular. Also he's so much cuter with short hair! I've been on Team Jacob forever, but now all the girls see why I was. They called him ugly since he had long hair! How dare they! Now they see it was only a wig and that he is so hot. Lets hope there is a lot of Jacob with his shirt off in the movie. *sigh*

Thanks for voting!

The winning choice was "millions of pages flipped daily". Thanks for voting! Now all I need to do is make a header for my blog with that on it and put it up.

Also check back tomorrow for a chance to win an e-book from Aubrie Dionne. All you have to do is leave a comment on my post with your e-mail address and you will be entered into a drawing.

Sunday, June 28, 2009

The Band: Trading Guys by Debra Garfinkle

Tracie Lily Mark Sienna and George's band, Amber Road, is finally making it big. At least they think they are until something major happens after the audition at Waves. Amber Road goes out to the beach to celebrate. Aaron, Lily's brother, brings some beer. When Lily suggests that they all do a boyfriend swap after George leaves things really start to get messed up. Lily takes Mark, Sienna's boyfriend, Aaron takes Tracie, Carter's girlfriend, and Sienna and Carter stuck together and they really don't want to do anything since they might have just lost their boyfriend/girlfriend.

The thing is that this whole thing turns into a permanent thing and not just a fun little game to spend the night with someone else's boyfriend/girlfriend. Everything turns upside down and the friendships in the band might be lost. Sienna is still hoping that Mark still likes her until she is told that he doesn't. Carter still has hope for him and Tracie until he knows that she doesn't want him anymore when she breaks up with him for the two-timing Aaron. George really isn't in any of the drama because he left early and he is trying to get all of his band mates to lighten up and stop being so depressed. Tracie might be getting kicked out because of Aaron.

All that could go wrong has went wrong and none of the bandmates know if anything can be undone. None of them know if they are ever going to get their chance to be famous. No one in the band even knows who Amber road is and why their band is named after her.

Will Amber Road make it or will they crash and burn? Will anyone other than Mark figure out who Amber is or what happened to her? Will the bandmates stay friends? Will Carter and Sienna get over their ex-boyfriend/girlfriend?

I thought this book was okay. I kind of compared it to So Lyrical and Overnight Sensation by Trish Cook. Although I thought that the ones by Trish Cook were betterbecause they weren't just a bunch of people fighting over a bunch of guys/girls. Actually the "funny" thing is they are pretty much the same story. The main character even has the same name. I wonder if the authors even noticed that they had almost the same book with an alike storyline and the same character name. Seems kind of fishy if you ask me. The funny thing is that I bought the first one in the series of both of these series at the same time at the same place. Usually I don't compare books to other books but this one and So Lyrical were so much a like I really couldn't not compare them.

I have the whole series which is three books and follows Amber Road on their journey (at least that's what I'm expecting because well it is a book entitled The Band. I don't think it rated very high for me because I felt like I had read the story before but without so many people. Personally I don't recommend it because I just didn't find it that interesting because it was just a bunch of people fighting and they used the term "make love" a lot which I hate that term don't you why don't you just come out and say what it is called. I think that the term "making love" is completely creepy. Don't you guys? Anyways I recommend So Lyrical over The Band because So Lyrical is about two people who fall for each other and Trace who is in search of her long lost dad who she has never met. Overall I think it's a good storyline and everything even though I might not have done a very good job explaining that book.

Saturday, June 20, 2009

Werewolf Dreams by M.M. Anderson

Cool Werewolves, a hot heroine, and things that go bump in the night.

Chapter One
Park Patrol


The moon was a waxing crescent.
Officer Seamus Sullivan, New City’s lone werewolf
policeman, slurped the raspberry jelly out of a Krinkle
Kreme donut and lobbed the frosted dough lump out the
window of his blue and white patrol car. It bounced off the
rim of an overflowing garbage can and landed in the paws
of a ragged rat. Feeding Midtown Gardens residents wasn’t
the same as littering, not in Seamus’s mind, anyway.
“Park patrol,” groaned Seamus as he reached for a
cruller. An insatiable sweet tooth and wet dog body odor
were constant but bearable human-form werewolf traits,
although soggy canine funk insured that Seamus’s love life
remained nonexistent. Also on the downside list of werewolf
traits was the “never age” dilemma, which meant
Seamus would stay seventeen forever. On the totally
downside of werewolf was the “moon” matter, and as
Seamus had learned, the “controlling your anger” problem.
Both of these occurrences made him sprout coarse
black fur and razor-sharp incisors, which led to the “holy
smokes” response that prompted Sergeant Gaffney to
consult a lunar calendar and give Seamus blue moon vacation
time and full moon days off.
After a recent newspaper article appeared, the sergeant
also saw to it that Seamus was assigned solo nightshift
park duty, until further notice. Midtown Gardens was
closed to the public from 10:00 PM to 6:00 AM. Seamus
and his New City Police Department radio car were posted
to make certain the park stayed vacant and graffiti-free.
“Sarge, what am I, a watch dog?” protested Seamus
when he heard about his new patrol detail.
Sgt. Gaffney didn’t respond, or look up from his desk
blotter. The reassignment wasn’t open for discussion.
Despite being annoyed and having a bruised ego, Seamus
decided he wouldn’t push the park patrol issue. He knew
Sergeant Gaffney had no choice but to protect his own
twilight career and Seamus’s hairy butt from controversy
and scrutiny, or worse.
Midtown Gardens duty notwithstanding, Seamus also
knew there was a definite upside to being an undead werewolf—
still living.
Seamus possessed an overzealous fight gene and never
retreated when danger reared its homicidal head. In his
four years as an officer of the law, Seamus would have died
many violent deaths had he still been a mortal.
On duty and off, Seamus hated bullies. They made him
react, and more often than not, lose his Irish temper. On
the offensive, Officer Sullivan experienced first-hand
what it was like to be stabbed, shot, bludgeoned, electrocuted,
squashed by a renegade train, pushed off a bridge,
and blown-up in a fiery skyscraper terrorist attack. He
walked away unscathed (usually on all fours) from each
altercation.
Eternal life undead had earned Seamus a slew of medals
for honor and valor, but it had also won him the unwanted
attention of Lyman Newlin, the formerly well-known
and presently crusty New City Chronicle police reporter.
The following editorial by Newlin appeared just prior to
Seamus’s park patrol reassignment:
Officer Seamus Sullivan from the 20th
Precinct seems to rise from the ashes
time and time again, like the mythical
phoenix. How does this young patrolman
defy death? Can survival be attributed
to a lucky break? And what about the
mysterious black hound that seems to
follow him around? Is Seamus Sullivan
New City’s very own superhero with a
canine sidekick?
The buried-on-page-nineteen blurb went unnoticed by
most New Citiers. Father X. Francis Benedict, however,
read the piece with rapt interest.
Mickey Stella, wanna-be wise guy, two-time jailbird,
part-time hit man, and small-time stolen goods fencer sat
alone at the end of the Cock of the Flock Tavern bar. He
puffed an unfiltered cigarette and nursed his fifth and
final bottom shelf double Scotch & soda. He’d been cutoff
by the bartender for uninhibited off gassing.
Mickey was low on cash and irritated about being
stood up by some guy who was going to cut him in on
some sort of great deal, moving stuff from an electronics
heist. Something to do with eye pads or pea pods. The
alcohol had made Mickey’s recall more foggy than usual.
Not to mention years of hallucinogenic drugs, lack of
exercise, and a diet high in partially hydrogenated oils.
Mickey liked to think of himself as a big guy, the
bouncer type. Mickey had horizontal butt crack on the
back of his neck and he could no longer bet numbers
higher than ten. Most people who knew Mickey referred
to him as a dumb, fat mook—even his mother.
Mickey knew this for certain because he used to go
with her to church.
Mama Stella lit devotional candles and prayed for her
only child every morning at 7:30 mass, “Dear Holy Mary
Mother of God, please watch over my dumb, fat mook
son and forgive me for whatever trespasses I did wrong to
give birth to such a loser. Amen.”
Mickey stumbled out of the Cock of the Flock Tavern
and squinted at his watch dial. It was either 12:10 or 2:00.
He couldn’t quite tell, but he was coherent enough to
know he had a transportation issue. Mickey hadn’t
considered finding a lift home, and he refused to take the bus
or subway, not at this late hour anyway, all the weirdoes,
too scary.
Mickey expected the guy with the goods to have wheels
and drive him back over the bridge to Sicily Town after
their deal went down. Mickey had planned to choke the
guy lifeless, bury the body, and keep the car for a few days.
Mickey’s Caddie was in the shop again and Mama Stella
wasn’t exactly generous with her antique Pacer. The moon
buggy sported a bumper sticker that read: HIT ME AND
WE EXPLODE TOGETHER.
That was Plan A. Mickey didn’t have a Plan B, and he
didn’t have return cab fare to Sicily Town. Not that any
New City taxi driver would have ferried Mickey over the
bridge to Sicily Town, not at such a late hour, for any
price, all the weirdoes, too scary.
With drunken clarity, Mickey decided to walk the six
and a quarter miles back to his basement apartment, the
studio he rented from his mother. Mickey hoped she wasn’t
waiting up, although he knew she would be. He pictured
her sour face glued to the kitchen window next to
the cellar door, waiting, watching, worrying. Mama Stella
wouldn’t let Mickey go to sleep without first giving her a
detailed account of his evening. Mickey had long ago run
out of credible fibs for his many midnight escapades,
especially fibs to explain all the digging that went on in
the vegetable garden after dark.
Four short blocks later, Mickey was bathed in sweat
and there was a raw spot on his inner butt cheek where his
size 48 briefs had crawled and bunched and began chafing.
“This freakin’ sucks!” screamed Mickey as he dislodged
the wedgie. A few slow steps later the wilted
traveler removed his sports jacket, and unbuttoned his
damp rayon dress shirt collar before cursing the heat,
which now topped the list of Mickey’s mounting aggravations.
Middle of the night and the mercury was still hovering
around a humid 85 degrees. Tomorrow snow was in the
forecast—that was springtime in New City.
A lone cab stopped for the light. Mickey ambled forward
and grabbed the passenger door handle, but not
before the driver caught sight of the Neanderthal wouldbe
fare in the rearview mirror, pushed auto-lock, and sped
away. Mickey tumbled onto the curb. It wasn’t his night.
“Eat dung! You diaper head, camel face, toilet… freakin’…
mother… ah, shit!” Mickey’s voice was hoarse from
too many smokes and chronic post-nasal drip. He now
had a rip in his sleeve and his elbow was scuffed. He sat
on the grimy concrete for a moment and tried his best to
contemplate the situation. The park loomed in front of
Mickey’s weary view. If he wanted to get home any time
before dawn he’d have to pick himself up and continue
walking.
Mickey decided Plan B was to skim a mile or so off his
impossible foot journey by cutting through Midtown
Gardens.
Mickey crossed the street and yanked the CLOSED
sign from the park’s entryway gate, bent it in half, tossed
it into the deserted avenue, and wished aloud in a flurry
of expletives that the discarded metal would tear through
the next passing cab’s tire.
Two hundred yards away, the clink-clank-clinking of
aluminum sign on potholed asphalt awoke Seamus from
a momentary snooze. The scent of sour body odor, blood,
tobacco, and cheap booze also reached Seamus long
before Mickey lumbered through the park clearing. The
trespasser stopped beside a lonely bench where he paused
to pee on an over-flowing garbage can. Seamus walked up
behind Mickey, flashlight in hand.
“Let’s go, Chief,” said Seamus.
Mickey jumped. “What the—?”
“Park’s closed. Or didn’t you read the sign before flinging
it into the street?”
Mickey finished urinating in silence, shook twice, then
pushed his pecker back into his fly and wiped a wet hand
on his pant leg.
“Prove I flinged the sign onto Garden Avenue, flatfoot.
Smells like a stinkin’wet dog around here.” Mickey sniffed
his own armpits.
“Emptied your tank, now beat it. If you wanna tip-toe
through the tulips, come back after 6:00.” Seamus
motioned with the flashlight beam, illuminating the
direction of nearest park exit. “Start walking.”
Mickey sat himself down on a park bench next to the
garbage can. “I ain’t going nowheres, flatfoot.”
According to the Police Handbook Course of Action,
Section 10, when dealing with an intoxicated person an
officer should:
1. Establish contact in a friendly manner and gain
trust.
2. Never be condescending.
3. Don’t debate.
4. Blame the reason why the person has to leave on
someone besides you.
5. Lie if you have to, to make them happy.
Seamus sighed. He hated dealing with drunks. The five
rules of law enforcement procedure never seemed to
work. He gave it a go anyway.
“Listen, Chief; it doesn’t look like you had such a good
night, but I don’t make the rules around here. Go home.
Things’ll be better in the morning.”
Mickey didn’t move or reply.
“The park is closed—you gotta leave.”
“Who says, flatfoot?” Mickey cocked his head and
glared at Seamus.
“I says.” Seamus folded his arms and stood erect, positioned
cop-style steadfast in a puddle of lamppost light.
Broad shouldered, muscular, 5’11”, clean-cut, baby faced,
Seamus didn’t look a day older than his forever seventeen
years.
Mickey grinned.
In one fast and fluid motion, Mickey grabbed the nearby
trashcan and crashed it across Seamus’s knees.
Seamus collapsed like a house of cards on a windy day.
Mickey followed with a second crushing blow to the
downed officer’s head, splitting it like a ripe watermelon.
Mickey rolled the bloodied, wounded policeman onto his
back and helped himself to the vehicle keys before removing
Seamus’s service revolver from its holster. He fired two
shots into the unconscious officer’s chest, stuffed the
smoking gun into his own waistband, and trotted towards
the radio car.
Seamus’s lupus conversion was swift and furious.
Mickey made it halfway across the clearing before he
heard the pursuing patter of paws. The cop killer slowed
his lumbering jog and glanced over his left shoulder. He
was eye-to-eye with a furious frothing werewolf.
“Big dog!” yelled Mickey, pulling the revolver from his
pocket. He didn’t get the opportunity to fire. An enormous
pair of razor-sharp jaws clamped over Mickey’s fleshy neck
with the force and speed of a guillotine. He was DOA
before his decapitated corpse hit the grass with a THUD.
By the time the frenzied werewolf had consumed
Mickey’s cirrhosis liver, not a trace of desecrated carcass
remained. It had burst into a momentary flame and vanished
into the darkness. Whatever personal articles were
left behind comprised a pile of soon-to-be-windblown
ashes.
Except the gun. It belonged to Seamus.
Seamus the werewolf loped back towards the patrol car,
his rage subsiding along with his consciousness. His stomach
was already beginning to boil and cramp. Don’t eat
drunks’ livers.
Seamus heaved and drooled and retched and hurled
Mickey chunks before catching sight of the familiar
apparition hovering above the grass. There she was again,
watching him from her glistening sphere of luminescence.
Seamus wagged his bushy black tail and whimpered an
affectionate greeting. He liked it when phantom woman
showed up to his kills in the buff. Tonight, however, she
was wearing pink paisley pajamas. All the same, nude or
clothed, she was hot.
It wasn’t long before Seamus’s vision faded to black.
Lights out.




That was the first chapter or M.M. Anderson's debut novel Werewolf Dreams. To celebrate the release I will be hosting a contest with a prize of a free autographed copy of Werewolf Dreams. Also to celebrate the release M.M. Anderson will be stopping by Laurel's YA Book Reviews for an author interview. If you have any specific questions that you would like for me to ask M.M. Anderson I would be glad to ask her if you would just leave the questions in a comment on this post.

Also I have a poll for a new slogan I guess you could say. If you don't like any of the ones that I put up on there and you have one that you think sounds good please leave it in a comment on this post. Also if someone posted a comment came up with a slogan that you like it would be great if you comment and say if you like that one because at the end of ,I don't know, a week? I will come back to this post and the poll and see which one you guys liked the best and I'll use that one on my new header. If there happens to be a tie for the slogan I'll be having another poll to choose which one you guys think is the best for my page.